Leigh’s Favorite Simple Chocolate Cake

October 30, 2008

   Okay, I will first tell you that this cake is SO GOOD! I am a full-time Recipe Developer for national food magazines and food companies, but I promise this cake is worth a try! For those of you who are in a huge hurry, just need a break or want something their kids can make, but here is the new version!

   My daugther Leigh, who is 9-years old, made the cake from the box instructions, and she was amazed she could make this on her own. After that, I discussed with her how this cake could be better. Basically we added added chocolate syrup and deleted some of the water.

Here’s is new version. No one will ever know that this cake was made from a cake mix (although I do love you Duncan Hines)! www.duncanhines.com

Gather these ingredients:

Combine 1 (18.25-ounce) package Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Devil’s Food Cake Mix, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 2/3 cup chocolate syrup and 2/3 cup water and follow package directions for spraying and flouring the pan as well as mixing. Bake according to package directions. Let cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

 

To make your own chocolate sauce drizzle, melt 1 (8-ounce) package semisweet morsels with 1 tablespoon milk. Place melted chocolate in a zip-top plastic bag and cut a hole in the bottom corner of the bag and drizzle over cake.

And here it is! I know Leigh went a little overboard with the powdered sugar, but all is well! Just remember one thing! This is best served with a glass of cold milk!

2 Responses to “Leigh’s Favorite Simple Chocolate Cake”

  1. Joy Kaler Says:

    This is a wonderful site! I made the chocolate cake this weekend and no one had any idea it was from a mix – including my sister that “only bakes from scratch”! I used your recipe for the chocolate syrup = wonderful and easy. I am a “foodie” and love new sites – great work, please pass on my compliments to Alison!

    Tomorrow night is the Election Night Party; some great ideas..I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  2. Rachael Says:

    Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!


Leave a Reply

