Hanukkah Classic Potato Latkes

December 19, 2008

latkes-rs-524062-l1

My dad, Alvin, has made Potato Latkes every year for as long as I can remember. I truly look forward to the smoke screen coming from my brother-in-law, Eric’s, kitchen every year.  Eric has been helping my father for the last few years. It’s a family tradition at my sister, Natalie’s, house to celebrate Hanukkah with my family and 10 nieces and nephews.  This is a simple classic recipe that we have been using for years. Of course, my dad had this recipe in his head, and it wasn’t written down until I worked as a Food Editor at Southern Living magazine.  They wanted to feature the recipe as my family’s favorites. I hope you will enjoy this recipe as much as we do every year. Even if you don’t celebrate Hanukkah, this recipe goes great with a roast, brisket, steak or salmon.

 

Potato Latkes

This recipe can be doubled.

Prep: 20 minutes

Cook: 15 minutes

Stand: 10 minutes

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

Ingredients

2 large baking potatoes, peeled (about 11/2 pounds)

2 large eggs

1 medium onion, diced

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Vegetable oil

Low-Fat Sour cream, applesauce

Preparation

1. Shred potatoes in a food processor; transfer to a bowl. Add water just to cover and let stand 10 minutes. Drain well; return potato to bowl.

2. Stir together potatoes, eggs and remaining ingredients, blending well.

3. Pour oil to depth of 1/2 inch into a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Drop 1/4 cup potato mixture into hot oil; fry 3 to 4 minutes on each side or until golden; Drain on paper towels. Serve with sour cream and applesauce, if desired.

3 Responses to “Hanukkah Classic Potato Latkes”

  1. Natalie Asman Says:

    I will attest to this family tradition of latkes – they are awesome!
    As Alison described, our father and my husband have been making latkes for our family for many years. If smoke is not bellowing out of the kitchen – then its simply not Hanukah. The best is to eat them right out of the pan as they make them. They are so hot and crisp and delicious. I always pretend to be in the kitchen for clean up detail, but truly I just wanted to eat them right out of the pan while they are cooking them fast and furiously. It’s simply not Hanukah unless you enjoy a hot and crispy latke.

  2. Meredith Says:

    Best latkes ever!!!! Can’t wait to have them this year!!!

  3. Lisa Palet Goldstein Says:

    I’m making these tomorrow night for friends and family. I know if it is Alison’s recipe, it will be good!!!


Leave a Reply

